Skip to product information
1 of 2

Labor: Left Hand Piano Concertos "Wittgenstein Concertos"

Labor: Left Hand Piano Concertos "Wittgenstein Concertos"

Regular price $21.99 USD
Regular price $21.99 USD Sale price $21.99 USD
Sale Currently Out Of Stock
Shipping calculated at checkout.

Besides the well-known Left Hand Piano Concertos by Korngold, Prokofiev, Ravel and others, this very first Concert of Josef Labor marks the beginning of this genre in 1915.
One-Handed pianist Paul Wittgenstein ordered it already during his captivity in Russia where he lost his right arm but determined to forward his pianistic career. Labor was part of Johannes Brahms’s close circle of friends. At the age of three, he lost his sight due to smallpox. For him composition was a luxury, insofar as he had to rely on the help of a scribe who had to commit the work to paper. Labor’s music is very skillfully composed, always sensuous, and first and foremost melodious; it does not require a too complete concentration on itself. These World Premiere Recordings marks an highlight of Capriccio's Labor-Edition which focused already since years on this sensitive Music of an mostly forgotten composer.

View full details

Product Description:

  • Release Date: February 16, 2024

  • UPC: 845221055213

  • Catalog Number: C5521

  • Label: Capriccio

  • Number of Discs: 1

  • Period: 20th Century

  • Composer: Josef Labor

  • Conductor: Eugene Tzigane

  • Orchestra/Ensemble: Deutsche Staatsphilharmonie Rheinland-Pfalz

  • Performer: Oliver Triendl