Skip to product information
1 of 1

Jarrell: Orchestral Works

Jarrell: Orchestral Works

Regular price $21.99 USD
Regular price $21.99 USD Sale price $21.99 USD
Sale Currently Out Of Stock
Shipping calculated at checkout.

The music of Michael Jarrell has been said to ‘examine states of dream and unreality, searching for a moment of truth’ – a truth which is often found in the lowest sonorities and slowest tempi, a place where time stands still. His works are often interrelated, not only by a certain sensitivity or a distinctive tone, but also by the recurrence of particular features that he reworks in different contexts. The present disc combines three orchestral works composed over a period of almost a quarter of a century. In Paysages avec figures absentes, played here by solo violinist Ilya Gringolts, the composer wished to find a new approach to writing for violin within an ensemble.

Premièred a few months before this recording by the Orchestre des Pays de la Loire and Pascal Rophé, the Sechs Augeblicke for orchestra suggest a concentration or implosion of sound matter within musical fragments, as a sort of reference to Schubert. Finally, the guiding idea of Un long fracas somptueux de rapide céleste with solo percussionist Florent Jodelet is a short, powerful ‘initial explosion’ that recurs, like a punctuation mark, throughout the piece, more or less regularly, in different forms.

View full details

Product Description:

  • Release Date: December 08, 2023

  • UPC: 7318599926728

  • Catalog Number: BIS-2672

  • Label: BIS

  • Number of Discs: 1

  • Period: Contemporary

  • Composer: Michael Jarrell

  • Conductor: Pascal Rophe

  • Orchestra/Ensemble: Orchestre National des Pays de la Loire

  • Performer: Ilya Gringolts, Florent Jodelet