Skip to product information
1 of 1

J.S. Bach: Sonatas & Partitas Franz Halasz

J.S. Bach: Sonatas & Partitas Franz Halasz

Regular price $42.99 USD
Regular price $42.99 USD Sale price $42.99 USD
Sale Currently Out Of Stock
Shipping calculated at checkout.

Summits of the violin repertory, Bach’s Sonatas and Partitas for solo violin have always fascinated performers and music lovers alike for their architectural perfection, their spiritual content and the breadth of their emotional palette. It is therefore not surprising that, like so many of Bach’s works, they have been constantly arranged for other instruments. On a purely practical level, there are elements in the writing of these works that seem to suit the guitar particularly well, with its polyphony, melody, dynamics and sound colours that lend themselves particularly well to the complexity of works that seem to go beyond the solo violin.

After his transcription for guitar of Bach’s four lute suites (BIS-2285), which BBC Music Magazine described as ‘a remarkable combination of technical ease, musical understanding and emotional directness’, Franz Halász now offers us his own arrangements of the Sonatas and Partitas – fresh performances that combine historically informed practice with modern technique.

Halász appears on a number of acclaimed discs for BIS, in wide-ranging repertoire, from Spanish baroque music to the contemporary works of Takemitsu and Gubaidulina, as well as tango and Brazilian music.

View full details

Product Description:

  • Release Date: March 15, 2024

  • UPC: 7318599927053

  • Catalog Number: BIS-2705

  • Label: BIS

  • Number of Discs: 2

  • Period: Baroque

  • Composer: Johann Sebastian Bach

  • Performer: Franz Halasz