Skip to product information
1 of 2

J.S. Bach: Concertos For Recorder Erik Bosgraaf, Cordevento

J.S. Bach: Concertos For Recorder Erik Bosgraaf, Cordevento

Regular price $37.99 USD
Regular price $37.99 USD Sale price $37.99 USD
Sale Currently Out Of Stock
Shipping calculated at checkout.

A high-grade LP transfer for a superbly engineered album of Bach at his most life-enhancing. JS Bach may not have composed any concertos specifically for recorder – none have survived, at any rate – but he scored for the instrument elsewhere in his output, most unforgettably so in his earliest surviving cantata, the ‘Actus tragicus’. In any case the uniquely adaptable nature of his inspiration lends itself to the kind of sympathetic adaptation undertaken here by Erik Bosgraaf in partnership with the musicologist and art historian Thiemo Wind. Three of the concertos here have beenadapted from pieces which survive in a scoring for solo harpsichord and string orchestra: BWV 1053, 1055 and 1059. A fourth concerto has been constructed by Wind from transcriptions of cantata arias, adapted from the secular cantata Preise dein Glücke, gesegnetes Sachsen BWV215 and Liebster Jesu, mein Verlangen BWV32. The idea is humble but ingenious, answering the question: what might Bach have done, or could he have done, if he had written concertos for the recorder? In doing so, Bosgraaf and his colleagues are following good precedents: after all, Bach himself created and performed many such transcriptions. His oeuvre demonstrates that a composition wasnot regarded as an unchanging work of art, and during his lifetime it was standard procedure to make quite radical adaptations according to the relevant circumstances. In any case, Bosgraaf and the one-per-part musicians of Cordevento perform these concertos with an unfailing sensitivity to the momentum and poetry of Bach’s originals. Now, on 180-gram vinyl, these recordings gain a special warmth and depth while losing none of their pin-point clarity. ‘Erik Bosgraaf’s recorder-playing is fluent and lively in fast music, and his five colleagues provide accompaniments that are lean, stylish and precise.’ (Gramophone)

View full details

Product Description:

  • Release Date: November 17, 2023

  • UPC: 5028421900124

  • Catalog Number: BRI90012

  • Label: Brilliant Classics

  • Number of Discs: 1

  • Period: ["COMPACT DISC"]

  • Composer: Johann Sebastian Bach

  • Orchestra/Ensemble: Cordevento

  • Performer: Erik Bosgraaf