Skip to product information
1 of 2

Husa & Martinu: Music For Clarinet

Husa & Martinu: Music For Clarinet

Regular price $39.99 USD
Regular price $39.99 USD Sale price $39.99 USD
Sale Currently Out Of Stock
Shipping calculated at checkout.

The internationally renowned Czech-born composer Karel Husa, Pulitzer Prize and Grawemeyer Award winner, gathered invaluable experience from Arthur Honegger and Nadia Boulanger, with whom he studied in Paris in the 1940s and 1950s. He was also greatly influenced by the folk music of his native Bohemia, as well as Slovakia, which is duly reflected in his Évocations de Slovaquie and Four Bohemian Sketches. Husa’s later pieces for clarinet and a variety of other instruments attest to his propensity for innovation and experimentation, yet all of them are comprehensible and listener-friendly. The present album opens with the gracious and, now and then, melancholy Sonatina by Bohuslav Martinu, who, just like Husa, studied in Paris and experienced exile sorrow. The young Czech clarinettist Anna Paulová, a Prague Spring laureate and the holder of numerous accolades from other international competitions, has enthusiastically devoted to Karel Husa over the long term. Recorded with superb instrumentalists, her Supraphon debut is likely to increase general interest in the remarkable composer’s music. A variety of clarinet colours and shades in Karel Husa and Bohuslav Martinu works

View full details

Product Description:

  • Release Date: June 16, 2023

  • UPC: 099925432720

  • Catalog Number: SU4327-2

  • Label: Supraphon

  • Number of Discs: 1

  • Period: 20th Century

  • Composer: Karel Husa, Bohuslav Martinu

  • Performer: Anna Pailova, Ivo Kahanek, Jan Fiser, Kristina Fialova, Vilem Vlcek, Oto Reiprich, Jan Hudecek