Skip to product information
1 of 2

Ho: Chinatown [2 CDs]

Ho: Chinatown [2 CDs]

Regular price $22.99 USD
Regular price $22.99 USD Sale price $22.99 USD
Sale Currently Out Of Stock
Shipping calculated at checkout.

Alice Ping Yee Ho, City Opera Vancouver, and Leaf Music are proud to present Chinatown, a sweeping opera that tells the collective story of thousands of Chinese immigrants who left their homeland between the mid-nineteenth and twentieth centuries in search of a better life for them and their families. The first opera in Hoisanese and English and the first to fuse authentic Chinese folk dialects and cultures into the world of English opera, Ho’s Chinatown is a tribute to the legacy of the people who toiled under the promise of prosperity, and instead received abuse and hardship. Chinatown revolves around the intertwining lives of Saihin and Xon Pon, two young men from Hoisan county in South China who have come to Canada in search of prosperity. We follow their story as they meet, work together, endure hardships and have families of their own. A collaboration between composer Alice Ping Yee Ho, librettist Madeleine Thien, and Hoisanese translator Paul Yee, Chinatown brings together decades of lived experience from thousands of Chinese immigrants in an intimate and emotionally arresting musical and dramatic soundscape. Ho says the opera is intended to be an artistic depiction of the realities facing early 20th century Chinese immigrants. “This album represents an important work that tells the stories and experiences of early Chinese immigrants. It’s clear by the standing ovations and positive reviews that the opera Chinatown is a beautiful and moving story of racism, resilience, and family. I hope this album will inspire the audience the same way as it was imagined in the theatre - the experience of an epic journey of music and drama, both heart-wrenching and heart-warming.”

View full details

Product Description:

  • Release Date: September 08, 2023

  • UPC: 3191684102344

  • Catalog Number: LM281

  • Label: Leaf Music

  • Number of Discs: 2

  • Composer: Alice Ping Yee Ho

  • Orchestra/Ensemble: City Opera Vancouver

  • Performer: City Opera Vancouver