Skip to product information
1 of 3

Hjellemo: Orchestral Works

Hjellemo: Orchestral Works

Regular price $20.99 USD
Regular price $20.99 USD Sale price $20.99 USD
Sale Currently Out Of Stock
Shipping calculated at checkout.

After the critic’s failure with his first symphony in 1912, Hjellemo took his time before presenting his second work in this genre – symphony no. 2 in B minor, which was premiered in 1926. The 2nd Symphony is even more extensive and advanced than the 1st, and requires an even larger orchestra. This suggests well that Hjellemo had more confidence in his own abilities than in the critics’ judgment. The symphony is a large, epic work almost unparalleled in Norwegian music history. The symphony was, as critics reported, very well received by the audience – the composer had to come forward three times to receive applause. There are no sources mentioning anything about this concerto when it suddenly appeared on a concert program with the Philharmonic Company Orchestra in May 1934, where Hjellemo himself was conducting three of his works. The violin concerto received a good reception, and in the reviews, the soloist was particularly noticed. The entire program was also broadcast live on radio in several European countries. This piece has been performed on several occasions, also after the composer’s death. The premiere took place on 17 June 1936, and the soloist was Ernst Glaser. Hugo Kramm conducted the Radio Orchestra in Oslo, and also this time the concert was broadcast live in several European countries. At the premiere, the work had the title Rondo for violin and orchestra, but later Hjellemo changed it to Norsk Caprice. The piece consists of a short orchestral opening, introducing the soloist. What follows is a traditional Norwegian Halling (a folk dance in 2/4 or 6/8 meter typical for Norway), virtuoso written for the violin.

View full details

Product Description:

  • Release Date: January 06, 2023

  • UPC: 7393338112822

  • Catalog Number: CDS1128

  • Label: Sterling Records

  • Number of Discs: 1

  • Period: 20th Century

  • Composer: Ole Hjellemo

  • Conductor: Jørn Fossheim

  • Orchestra/Ensemble: Makris Symphony Orchestra

  • Performer: Christopher Tun Andersen