Skip to product information
1 of 2

Highways & Byways - Rarities for Recorder

Highways & Byways - Rarities for Recorder

Regular price $27.99 USD
Regular price $27.99 USD Sale price $27.99 USD
Sale Currently Out Of Stock
Shipping calculated at checkout.

"Highways and Byways: A Double Album of Rarities for Recorder"

A seminal contribution to the canon of recorder music, this recording assumes a pivotal role, enriching the repertoire and captivating audiences with its distinct allure and technical prowess. Serving as a valuable resource for connoisseurs of recorder music and an inviting introduction for novices, Highways and Byways features a diverse array of compositions. Through its discerning curation and expert execution, this recording not only commemorates the recorder's storied legacy but also fosters an appreciation for its enduring elegance and adaptability.

John Turner presents recorder pieces by renowned composers such as Lennox Berkeley, John McCabe, and Thomas Pitfield. Discover rare gems by Igor Stravinsky and Alexander Gretchaninov, alongside a remarkable composition for recorder and two violas by the distinguished American composer William Bergsma.

As a special treat, the album includes two previously unknown pieces by the late Christopher Ball, along with two compositions by John Turner himself, including a homage to Ukraine. It's a veritable feast of rare and captivating music!

Renowned as one of today's leading recorder players, John Turner's illustrious career spans performances with esteemed ensembles like David Munrow’s Early Music Consort of London and recordings with prestigious orchestras worldwide. With over 600 premieres to his credit, including works by Leonard Bernstein and Peter Sculthorpe, Turner's artistry has left an indelible mark on the contemporary recorder repertoire.

Featuring performances by John Turner (recorder), Stephen Bettaney (piano), Laura Robinson (recorder), Catherine Yates (viola), and Alex Mitchell (viola), "Highways and Byways" is a testament to the dedication of these exceptional musicians.

View full details

Product Description:

  • Release Date: May 17, 2024

  • UPC: 809730124525

  • Catalog Number: DDX21245

  • Label: Divine Art

  • Number of Discs: 2

  • Composer: Christopher Ball, William Bergsma, Lennox Berkeley, David Butler, David Ellis, Alexander Gretchaninov, Wilfred Heaton, Peter Hope, David Jepson, John Locke, John McCabe, Dorothy Pilling, Thomas Pitfield, Peter Pope, Igor Stravinsky, John Turner

  • Performer: John Turner, Stephen Bettaney, Laura Robinson, Catherine Yates, Alex Mitchell