Skip to product information
1 of 2

Handel: Oboe Concertos Andrius Puskunigis, Klaipeda Chamber Orchestra

Handel: Oboe Concertos Andrius Puskunigis, Klaipeda Chamber Orchestra

Regular price $34.99 USD
Regular price $34.99 USD Sale price $34.99 USD
Sale Currently Out Of Stock
Shipping calculated at checkout.
An audiophile LP transfer for a superbly engineered modern recording of Handel's Oboe Concertos. - The Latvian oboist Andrius Puskunigis has built a catalogue of critically acclaimed albums on Brilliant Classics. Fanfare welcomed his 2016 recording of Mozart and contemporaries in glowing terms: 'Puskunigis and company provide a little over an hour of unalloyed pleasure, as they did in their lovely recording of reconstructions of J.S. Bach oboe concertos a year ago... Brilliant Classics... offers this in excellent sound... Classical Oboe Concertos would be a most welcome release at full price. At Brilliant's bargain pricing it should be absolutely irresistible to anyone remotely interested in fine oboe playing or Classical-period concertos.' - From 2020, this album of oboe concertos by Handel includes a number of first recordings and reconstructions. There is ample justification for such imaginative licence, given that Handel himself remarked that the oboe was his favourite instrument, and given the freedom with which he adapted and transcribed his own music as the occasion demanded. - Thus, alongside the canonic three oboe concertos, Puskingis presents two more, one for the oboe and the other for the oboe d'amore, transcribed from arias originally written for castrato roles in his operas. A C major Concerto thus includes the famous aria 'Lascia ch'io pianga' from Rinaldo, while the expressive heart of the D major concerto for oboe d'amore features 'Ombra mai fu' from Serse. - A similarly inventive approach has been taken to ornamentation and decoration, inserting liberal opportunities for Andrius Puskunigis to display his virtuosity with cadenza passages. Accompanied by the neatly contoured modern-instrument Klaipeda Chamber Orchestra, and recorded in the acoustically optimal modern concert hall of Klaipeda, the album has a focused resonance which makes it highly suitable for this transfer to 180gm vinyl.
View full details

Product Description:

  • Release Date: March 15, 2024

  • UPC: 5028421900148

  • Catalog Number: BRI90014

  • Label: Brilliant Classics

  • Number of Discs: 1

  • Period: ["VINYL"]

  • Composer: George Frideric Handel

  • Orchestra/Ensemble: Klaipeda Chamber Orchestra

  • Performer: Andrius Puskunigis