Skip to product information
1 of 2

Great Music of Small Forms / Yekaterinburg Philharmonic Choir

Great Music of Small Forms / Yekaterinburg Philharmonic Choir

Regular price $18.99 USD
Regular price Sale price $18.99 USD
Sale Currently Out Of Stock
Shipping calculated at checkout.

The Yekaterinburg Philharmonic Choir (artistic director and conductor Andrei Petrenko) presents Great Music of Small Forms, an album of works by Russian composers of the 19th and 20th centuries. These include works by Varlamov and Glinka as representatives of the St. Petersburg school, by Mussorgsky, Rimsky-Korsakov, Borodin, Balakirev and Cui (The Mighty Handful), and by Arensky, Anton Rubinstein and Tchaikovsky. Whilst these composers were primarily known for their large-scale compositions, here they reveal themselves as consummate masters of the choral miniature, finding their inspiration in the masterpieces of Russian poetry, in folk songs and in salon romances. Listeners will here discover not only world-famous works by these composers but also original choral arrangements of their music that were made especially for this recording.

View full details
  • Release Specifications

    • Number of Discs: 1
    • Release Date:
    • Label: Fuga Libera
    • UPC/Barcode: 5400439008007
    • Item Number: FUG800