Skip to product information
1 of 2

Gershwin - Goodyear

Gershwin - Goodyear

Regular price $18.99 USD
Regular price $16.99 USD Sale price $18.99 USD
Sale Currently Out Of Stock
Shipping calculated at checkout.

Orchid Classics marks its 100th release with a particularly special album starring some of the most exciting artists of our time: pianist-composer Stewart Goodyear, the Chineke! Orchestra and Wayne Marshall. The release includes world-premiere recordings of Goodyear’s Carnival-inspired Suite for piano and orchestra, named Callaloo in honour of his Trinidadian roots, and his Piano Sonata, an exuberant reflection of Goodyear’s youth. These are heard alongside Gershwin’s magnificent Rhapsody in Blue. Stewart Goodyear has been described as “a phenomenon” by the Los Angeles Times and “one of the best pianists of his generation” by the Philadelphia Inquirer. He is joined by the pioneering Chineke! Orchestra, a vital, vibrant ensemble made up of Europe’s finest Black and Minority Ethnic performers, conducted here by the brilliant conductor, organist and pianist, Wayne Marshall.


Stewart Goodyear’s performance on his new recording sizzles with high energy from start to finish. The Piano Sonata carries Goodyear’s virtuosic stamp on both its writing and performance. The Chineke! Orchestra, led by Wayne Marshall, collaborates beautifully with Goodyear. Extraordinary playing, superb recording and engineering make this one of the most exciting discs released this year.

– Whole Note (CA)

View full details
  • Release Specifications

    • Number of Discs: 1
    • Release Date:
    • Label: Orchid Classics
    • UPC/Barcode: 5060189561001
    • Item Number: ORC100100