Skip to product information
1 of 2

For All We Know / Adonis Rose Trio

For All We Know / Adonis Rose Trio

Regular price $17.99 USD
Regular price $17.99 USD Sale price $17.99 USD
Sale Currently Out Of Stock
Shipping calculated at checkout.

Renowned drummer and Artistic Director of the New Orleans Jazz Orchestra, Adonis Rose, releases his new ballads album 'For All We Know,' featuring his trio and vocalist Gabrielle Cavassa, on Storyville Records. Gabrielle Cavassa (winner of the Sarah Vaughan competition in 2021) represents a new generation of wonderful and very talented vocalists who know the tradition. Behind her, she has the Adonis Rose Trio, two young and very talented musicians, pianist Ryan Hanseler who has also contributed with two original songs to the album, and one of the most exciting new bassists right now, Lex Warshawsky.

“Life has a way of taking us places we never thought we would return to,” AR reflects, tracing the journey that led him to this captivating project. With over three decades of musical prowess and a career steeped in collaborations with jazz legends, his artistic evolution has been nothing short of extraordinary. From his early days, sharing the stage with trumpeter Terence Blanchard to his tenure with Betty Carter, Wynton Marsalis, Marcus Roberts and more, Rose has cultivated a legacy of excellence.

Amidst his journey, an unfulfilled desire lingered – a yearning to create a standards record. AR found himself contemplating his musical legacy, recognizing that he had yet to craft a record primarily dedicated to the enduring classics.

“I’ve always wanted to do a standards record, but never made it a priority,” AR admits. “As the years went by, I found myself thinking about my body of work as a musician and artist. Realizing that I’ve never done a tribute album or a recording primarily playing standards.”

This recording is an embodiment of this sentiment – a soulful homage to the timeless classics that have shaped jazz history. This project marks a poignant departure from the norm, as AR and his trio take on a selection of standards with fresh arrangements and invigorating spirit. In the landscape of modern jazz, dedicated standards recordings are a rarity. Recognizing this void, AR embraces the challenge with 'For All We Know,' the first of several standards projects he envisions crafting in the foreseeable future. He ventures into this territory with a passion to pay homage to the classics.

'For All We Know' was initially intended to feature the iconic Ellis Marsalis, AR’s friend and mentor. Tragically, the project shifted course when Marsalis succumbed to COVID-19. This album now stands as a poignant dedication to the musical legend’s memory. Hanseler’s piano artistry, Warshawsky’s dynamic basslines, and Cavassa’s emotionally charged vocals meld seamlessly with AR’s drumming, creating a tapestry of sound that resonates with audiences across the globe.

AR recalls the genesis of the album, stating, “their love and generosity are felt with each note played…” The recording process was a joyous endeavor, with the trio recording in a relaxed and laid-back environment. A touch of New Orleans magic was added when vocalist Cyrille Aimée joined the sessions. The album radiates with the camaraderie and musicianship of the trio: Ryan Hanseler, Lex Warshawsky, and Gabrielle Cavassa. Their synergy is palpable, as they effortlessly breathe new life into each arrangement. The sessions captured the trio’s collaborative spirit, resulting in an intimate and engaging collection of tracks. Adonis Rose and his trio have delivered an album that not only pays homage to the rich legacy of jazz standards but also infuses them with new energy and passion

View full details

Product Description:

  • Release Date: March 29, 2024

  • UPC: 717101853526

  • Catalog Number: SVL1018535

  • Label: Storyville Records

  • Number of Discs: 1

  • Period: Jazz

  • Composer: Various

  • Orchestra/Ensemble: Various

  • Performer: Adonis Rose