Skip to product information
1 of 3

Flute Sonatas & Solo Works

Flute Sonatas & Solo Works

Regular price $20.99 USD
Regular price $20.99 USD Sale price $20.99 USD
Sale Currently Out Of Stock
Shipping calculated at checkout.
Flautist Brandon Patrick George describes his debut album as a dialogue between the past and the future. It is indeed quite a leap in time from Johann Sebastian Bach (1685-1750) to the Finnish composer Kalevi Aho, born in 1949 – yet he has included works for solo flute by both composers on this recording. There are also two important chamber works for a flute and piano duo which represent milestones in the repertoire: a sonata by Sergei Prokofiev (1891-1953) and a sonatina by Pierre Boulez (1925-2016) – and so this release represents a walk through musical history spanning 300 years. Brandon Patrick George is the flutist of the Grammy®-nominated Imani Winds, and has performed with many of the world’s leading ensembles including the Los Angeles Philharmonic, Pittsburgh Symphony Orchestra, Orpheus Chamber Orchestra, and the International Contemporary Ensemble (ICE).


What strikes the listener on this debut release by Brandon Patrick George is the chances he takes. Until the final Flute Sonata, Op. 94, of Prokofiev, George plays perilously virtuosic works, with every detail of his playing exposed by hyper-clear sound. George chooses an intelligent program that begins with the Bach's Flute Partita in A minor, BWV 1013. George's crisp, sharp-edged performance is masterly. The pieces by Pierre Boulez and Kalevi Aho not only extend the virtuoso challenges but tie into the implied Baroque counterpoint of Bach's Partita. Only with the Prokofiev Flute Sonata does the music relax, and George with it. It's an exceptionally well-structured program, flawlessly executed.

- James Manheim,
View full details
  • Release Specifications

    • Number of Discs:
    • Release Date:
    • Label:
    • UPC/Barcode: 881488180398
    • Item Number: PH18039