Skip to product information
1 of 1

Engel: Grete Minde

Engel: Grete Minde

Regular price $37.99 USD
Regular price $37.99 USD Sale price $37.99 USD
Sale Currently Out Of Stock
Shipping calculated at checkout.

This recording of Eugen Engel’s opera Grete Minde documents an extraordinary event: the only opera by the formerly unknown composer was premiered at Theater Magdeburg on February 13th 2022, almost 90 years after its completion and 80 years after the death of its creator. This deferred debut was preceded by years of behind-the-scenes work – the compilation of musical material from the handwritten manuscript, as well as biographical research on Engel himself. The fact that only few historical references to him exist is partly due to the fact that music was not his main profession; the primary cause, however, is the persecution and murder of almost his entire family during the Shoah (Holocaust).

The accompanying booklet of this 2 CD live recording of the opera premiere contains liner notes by head dramaturg Ulrike Schröder, artist biographies and the full libretto in German and English language.

View full details

Product Description:

  • Release Date: May 05, 2023

  • UPC: 4011790260228

  • Catalog Number: ORF-C260352

  • Label: ORFEO

  • Number of Discs: 2

  • Period: 20th Century

  • Composer: Eugen Engel

  • Conductor: Anna Skryleva

  • Orchestra/Ensemble: Chor des Theaters Magdeburg,Magdeburgische Philharmonie

  • Performer: Marko Pantelic, Kristi Anna Isene, Jan Arik Redmer, Raffaela Lintl, Jadwiga Postrozna, Zoltan Nyari, Paul Sketris, Johannes Stermann, Johannes Wollrab, Benjamin Lee, Na'ama Shulman, Karina Repova, Frank Heinrich