Skip to product information
1 of 1

Elgar & Lalo Cello Concertos / Ofra Harnoy

Elgar & Lalo Cello Concertos / Ofra Harnoy

Regular price $13.98 USD
Regular price $13.98 USD Sale price $13.98 USD
Sale Currently Out Of Stock
Shipping calculated at checkout.

In April of 1996, Ofra Harnoy entered the venerable Abbey Road Studios in London with the London Philharmonic Orchestra to record Edward Elgar’s great cello concerto. Unfortunately, shortly after this event, the end result did not end up where it was supposed to be and was not released to the public. In fact, the whereabouts of the recording went unknown for quite some time, afterward.

In early 2022, through some diligent searching, the lost recording was located and will now be released paired with Harnoy’s remastered recording of the Édouard Lalo Cello Concerto, on the Sony Classical label. With the help of session notes from and conversations with recording producer Andrew Keener, the 1996 Abbey Road sessions were edited (Mike Herriott) and mastered (Ron Searles). The result is what will likely be lauded as one of the definitive interpretations of Elgar’s great warhorse for the cello.

Described by the New York Times as “born to the instrument”, Ofra Harnoy brings her unmatched passion and virtuoso to Elgar’s masterpiece and final notable composition. Very much influenced by Jacqueline Du Pré’s 1965 recording, and the rare opportunity afforded her to study the work with Ms. Du Pré, in masterclass, Harnoy’s own voice comes to the fore to capture Elgar’s own anguish and heartbreak.

View full details

Product Description:

  • Release Date: September 15, 2023

  • UPC: 196588243424

  • Catalog Number: 19658824342

  • Label: Sony

  • Number of Discs: 1

  • Period: Late Romantic

  • Composer: Edward Elgar, Edouard Lalo

  • Orchestra/Ensemble: London Philharmonic, Bournemouth Symphony Orchestra

  • Performer: Ofra Harnoy