Skip to product information
1 of 1



Regular price $11.98 USD
Regular price $11.98 USD Sale price $11.98 USD
Sale Currently Out Of Stock
Shipping calculated at checkout.

Anita Rachvelishvili’s second album Élégie showcases her in the song repertoire to which she has a special connection despite being best known as a star of the world's greatest opera houses. Riccardo Muti has called the Georgian singer “without doubt the best Verdi mezzo-soprano today on the planet”, but here she reveals another side to her art. The repertoire is notable for its variety featuring five languages (Russian, Georgian, Italian, French and Spanish) and, correspondingly, five very different repertoire traditions. "I really love this repertoire. It gives one more colours and more possibilities for expressing emotions with the voice", says Anita Rachvelishvili. Echoing her debut album of operatic arias on Sony, she introduces listeners to a great if internationally neglected Georgian composer, in this case Otar Taktakisvili, heard in The Sun of October, a setting of the distinguished Georgian poet Galaktion Tabidze. As well as Rachmaninov's setting of the Pushkin poem Oh never sing to me again and Tchaikovsky's None but the lonely heart.

View full details

Product Description:

  • Release Date: July 09, 2021

  • UPC: 194397370225

  • Catalog Number: 19439737022

  • Label: Sony

  • Number of Discs: 1

  • Composer: Francesco Paolo Tosti, Henri Duparc, Manuel de Falla, Otar Taktakishvili, Peter Ilyich Tchaikovsky, Sergei Rachmaninov

  • Performer: Anita Rachvelishvili