Skip to product information
1 of 2

Dvorak: Complete Works For Violin & Orchestra

Dvorak: Complete Works For Violin & Orchestra

Regular price $20.99 USD
Regular price $20.99 USD Sale price $20.99 USD
Sale Currently Out Of Stock
Shipping calculated at checkout.

"I sense a deep humanity in Dvorák's music. He was a great master of orchestration, and he composed unusually beautiful melodies and harmonies. But at the forefront he always presents honesty and generosity. And when we listen to this music, this penetrates deep into our hearts. I consider Dvorák's Violin Concerto to be unique, and it occupies a very special place among all of the violin concertos of this period. Behind its creation lies a very unusual story. The composition dates back to 1879, but its premiere did not take place until 1883, exactly four years later. The reason for this was that the concerto was dedicated to Joseph Joachim, who repeatedly requested a number of changes in the piece. The story subsequently ended in such a way that Joachim, despite the changes and his years of collaboration with Dvorák, ignored the piece when it was completed, leaving it to be premiered instead by Czech violinist František Ondrícek."
-Mikhail Pochekin

View full details

Product Description:

  • Release Date: January 05, 2024

  • UPC: 881488230574

  • Catalog Number: HC23057

  • Label: Hänssler & Profil

  • Number of Discs: 1

  • Period: Romantic

  • Composer: Antonin Dvorak

  • Conductor: Daniel Raiskin

  • Orchestra/Ensemble: Slovak Philharmonic Orchestra

  • Performer: Mikhail Pochekin