Skip to product information
1 of 2

Deutsch, Ravel & Sibelius: Oceanic

Deutsch, Ravel & Sibelius: Oceanic

Regular price $21.99 USD
Regular price $21.99 USD Sale price $21.99 USD
Sale Currently Out Of Stock
Shipping calculated at checkout.

The new album "Oceanic" by Iveta Apkalna is a collection of two expansive organ works and two orchestral interludes with maritime connotations, showcasing Apkalna's special relationship with the sea as a musician who grew up on the Baltic. The album features Bernd Richard Deutsch's "Okeanos," which Iveta Apkalna describes as the best contemporary organ concerto. It also includes Maurice Ravel's "Une barque sur l'océan," a key work of musical Impressionism, and Jean Sibelius's "The Oceanides," a personal "Rondo of the Waves" along similar lines to Debussy's "La mer."

View full details

Product Description:

  • Release Date: April 21, 2023

  • UPC: 885470028132

  • Catalog Number: 0302813BC

  • Label: Berlin Classics

  • Number of Discs: 1

  • Period: 20th Century, Contemporary

  • Composer: Bernd Richard Deutsch, Maurice Ravel, Jean Sibelius, Eriks Esenvalds

  • Conductor: Andris Poga

  • Orchestra/Ensemble: Stavanger Symphony Orchestra

  • Performer: Iveta Apkalna