Skip to product information
1 of 2

Damcke: Piano Trios Nos. 1 & 2

Damcke: Piano Trios Nos. 1 & 2

Regular price $36.99 USD
Regular price $36.99 USD Sale price $36.99 USD
Sale Currently Out Of Stock
Shipping calculated at checkout.

First the discovery of his works in the Bibliothèque Nationale in Paris, then the new edition of the chamber music works in the Kammermusikverlag from 2020 and finally the contact to the three performers / inside who had great interest to record these works. So, finally, with these first recordings, about 160 years after the composition of these works, one can have a listening impression of the chamber music of Berthold Damcke: a German composer, pianist, conductor, music educator and critic, and newspaper correspondent. Born in Hanover, he first studied theology and later music in Frankfurt am Main. in 1845 Damcke went to St. Petersburg. From 1859 he lived and worked in Paris, where he was active as a correspondent, among other things. The 2 piano trios at the center of this production are works that were very much heard in Paris at the time, or in its salons. The Revue et Gazette described the music as "the best chamber music". Liszt spoke of Damcke as one of the most sought-after composition teachers in Paris. Berlioz called him a "great musician, an artist." The recorded works are worth rediscovering and performing.

View full details

Product Description:

  • Release Date: January 06, 2023

  • UPC: 0761203552122

  • Catalog Number: 555521-2

  • Label: CPO

  • Number of Discs: 2

  • Period: Romantic

  • Composer: Berthold Damcke

  • Orchestra/Ensemble: Pianotrio Then-Bergh-Yang-Schafer

  • Performer: Pianotrio Then-Bergh-Yang-Schafer