Skip to product information
1 of 2

Couperin: Complete Harpsichord Music / Massimo Berghella [5 CDs]

Couperin: Complete Harpsichord Music / Massimo Berghella [5 CDs]

Regular price $22.99 USD
Regular price $22.99 USD Sale price $22.99 USD
Sale Currently Out Of Stock
Shipping calculated at checkout.

Performers and listeners alike have long gravitated to Louis Couperin's music more than to that of any other member of the French keyboard school of the time, probably because of its fascinating and surprising harmonic language. There are 129 pieces catalogued as authentic.

In making this new recording of all 129 pieces, Massimo Berghella has chosen to take the Preludes as starting points for ‘suites’ – 17 in all – which gather up the remaining dance movements into coherent sequences cast in the same key as the relevant Prelude.

Among the most distinguished active Italian harpsichordists, Massimo Bergella studied with Kenneth Gilbert at the Mozarteum in Salzburg and at the Accademia Chigiana in Siena. He has a 30-year-long career as a teacher himself, as well as a performance diary and discography that has taken him across Europe for recitals, broadcasts and recordings. Of a previous album of d’Anglebert, La Nazione remarked that Berghella ‘grasps the reconstructive necessity of the scores, performing them in all their poetic complexity.’

View full details

Product Description:

  • Release Date: July 28, 2023

  • UPC: 5028421962382

  • Catalog Number: BRI96238

  • Label: Brilliant Classics

  • Number of Discs: 5

  • Period: Baroque

  • Composer: Louis Couperin

  • Performer: Massimo Berghella