Skip to product information
1 of 1



Regular price $21.99 USD
Regular price $21.99 USD Sale price $21.99 USD
Sale Currently Out Of Stock
Shipping calculated at checkout.
OLGA SAMAROFF (1880-1948) and FRANK LA FORGE (1879-1953) were amongst the earliest pianists to record for the US Victor label, both making most of their discs in the acoustic era before 1925. Though American, both went to Europe to study - Samaroff to the Paris Conservatoire and La Forge to Leschetizky in Vienna. Samaroff was the greater virtuoso, as can be heard in her famous recording of Wagner's 'Ride of the Valkyries', but after a fall, in 1926 she retired to an equally successful teaching career at the Juilliard School, her pupils including William Kapell, Raymond Lewenthal and Rosalyn Tureck amongst many others. La Forge gravitated towards accompanying and went on to record hundreds of discs for Victor in that capacity. His discs as soloist include some of the earliest attempts to record concerted works.
View full details

Product Description:

  • Release Date: June 28, 2024

  • UPC: 5024709160440

  • Catalog Number: APR6044

  • Label: APR

  • Number of Discs: 2

  • Composer: Johann Sebastian Bach, Ludwig Van Beethoven, Johannes Brahms, Cecile Chaminade, Frederic Chopin, Cla

  • Performer: Olga Samaroff, Frank La Forge