Skip to product information
1 of 2

Coleridge-Taylor, Martin, Smetana & Suk: Rooted

Coleridge-Taylor, Martin, Smetana & Suk: Rooted

Regular price $20.99 USD
Regular price $20.99 USD Sale price $20.99 USD
Sale Currently Out Of Stock
Shipping calculated at checkout.
The Neave Trio's programme Rooted features a range of works based on folk music. Smetana's distinctive nationalistic style was largely based on the inclusion of bohemian rhythmic and melodic elements, and he was acclaimed in his native Bohemia as the father of Czech music. His Trio in G minor was composed in 1855 as a response to the death of his four-year old daughter and shows the influence of Liszt. Josef Suk was a favourite pupil of Dvorak's, and his early Piano Trio, whilst shorter in length and less intense than Smetana's, is embedded in that Czech tradition. Also deeply influenced by Dvorak, Samuel Coleridge-Taylor was inspired by his African heritage, as well, and his Twenty-Four Negro Melodies for Piano was a prime example of his research. He subsequently arranged five of these pieces into the suite for piano trio that we hear on this album. The programme concludes with Frank Martin's Trio from 1925, which is based on traditional Irish melodies.
View full details

Product Description:

  • Release Date: July 05, 2024

  • UPC: 095115227220

  • Catalog Number: CHAN 20272

  • Label: Chandos

  • Number of Discs: 1

  • Composer: Samuel Coleridge-Taylor, Frank Martin, Bedrich Smetana, Josef Suk

  • Orchestra/Ensemble: Neave Trio