Skip to product information
1 of 2

Christmas Night: Carols of the Nativity / John Rutter; Cambridge Singers

Christmas Night: Carols of the Nativity / John Rutter; Cambridge Singers

Regular price $12.99 USD
Regular price $12.99 USD Sale price $12.99 USD
Sale Currently Out Of Stock
Shipping calculated at checkout.

The theme of this album is the birth of Christ, reflected in the words and music of twenty-two carols spanning more than six centuries. Some of these carols have long been widely known and loved; others have become so thanks to the annual Christmas Eve Festival of Nine Lessons and Carols at King’s College, Cambridge; a few are newly written. But all of them focus on the central event of the Christmas story – the birth at Bethlehem – and on the characters in that story: the angels, the shepherds, the wise men, and the mother with her child.

John Rutter writes: “This has always been my favorite among the Christmas albums I have devised and conducted, but digital sound restoration techniques have made huge advances in the years since it was recorded and it was time to give it a spring-clean. In remastering it, it has been possible to bring the sound of the choir and the orchestra to life, and I have been able to enjoy it anew. The Cambridge Singers in 1985 were at the top of their game, and the choir list includes at least two singers who are now internationally renowned as soloists. We hope you will enjoy this classic recording in its newly restored form.”


  • In dulci jubilo
  • Ord: Adam lay ybounden
  • Christmas Night
  • Once, As I Remember
  • Howells: A Spotless Rose
  • Darke: In the Bleak Midwinter
  • Rutter: There Is a Flower
  • The Cherry-Tree Carol
  • Niles: I Wonder as I Wander
  • Rutter: Candlelight Carol
  • Tannenbaum
  • Tomorrow Shall Be My Dancing Day
  • A Virgin Most Pure
  • Hadley, P: I sing of a maiden
  • Ballet: Lute-Book Lullaby
  • Cornelius: The Three Kings
  • Richard R. Terry: Myn Lyking
  • Bach, J S: O Jesulein süß, BWV493
  • Ebeling: All my heart this night rejoices
  • I Saw a Maiden
  • Kirkpatrick: Away in a Manger
  • Rutter: Nativity Carol
View full details
  • Release Specifications

    • Number of Discs: 1
    • Release Date:
    • Label: Collegium Records
    • UPC/Barcode: 040888052623
    • Item Number: CSCD526