Skip to product information
1 of 2

Bruckner: Complete Symphonies

Bruckner: Complete Symphonies

Regular price $48.99 USD
Regular price $48.99 USD Sale price $48.99 USD
Sale Currently Out Of Stock
Shipping calculated at checkout.

ANTON BRUCKNER 200 (1824-2024)

Note: This re-release of the cycle of Anton Bruckner's Nine Symphonies and the Mass No. 3 was originally recorded by and released on the PENTATONE label.

Recording the symphonies of the iconic Austro-German Romantic, Bruckner, with the Orchestre de la Suisse Romande – an orchestra with roots in the French music-performance tradition – was a courageous decision. Conductor Marek Janowski attests to the fact that exploring and working on this repertoire was a joyful process for all musicians involved, and the result of that endeavour speaks for itself.

The Symphony No. 1 is performed in the Linz version of 1877 (ed. Nowak).

Bruckner’s omnipresent “version problem” manifests itself with great clarity for the first time in the Symphony No. 2. Three versions of the work exist: 1871–72, 1873–77 and 1892. The versions from 1872 and 1877 were presented as part of the “New Complete Edition” in two volumes (ed. William Carragan), and this recording is based on the latter.

The colossal dimensions of the first version of Symphony No. 3, with its sprawling and untamed shape, and the restrained, pruned-down version dating from 1888/89 (ed. Nowak) recorded here are worlds apart.

Marek Janowski recorded the well-known second version of Symphony No. 4, i.e. the 1878/80 Version with Bruckner's 1886 revisions (ed. Nowak).

Only one version remains of both the Symphony No. 5 and Symphony No .6: the 1878 Version (ed. Nowak) and 1881 Version (ed. Nowak), respectively. Likewise, the Symphony No.7 has only one version, from 1885, however the Nowak edition recorded here differs from the earlier Haas edition.

Symphony No. 8 is recorded here in its 1890 Edition (ed. Nowak), heavily revised at the bidding of conductor Hermann Levi, Bruckner’s intended conductor for the premiere. The unfinished Symphony No.9 is presented here as such: a three-movement work (ed. Nowak).

This cycle of the nine canonical symphonies of Bruckner is graced with the addendum of the Mass No. 3, in which Bruckner clearly gears his style towards that of the symphonic–orchestral Mass paradigm of composers ranging from Haydn to Schubert, and most emblematically, Beethoven’s Missa solemnis, yet with a “mixture of the archaic and the personal, of an as yet undeveloped style of composition” (M. Hansen).

View full details

Product Description:

  • Release Date: January 05, 2024

  • UPC: 5028421970820

  • Catalog Number: BRI97082

  • Label: Brilliant Classics

  • Number of Discs: 10

  • Period: Romantic

  • Composer: Anton Bruckner

  • Conductor: Marek Janowski, Stefan Parkman

  • Orchestra/Ensemble: Orchestre de La Suisse Romande, Rundfunkchor Berlin

  • Performer: Lenneke Ruiten, Iris Vermillion, Shawn Mathey, Franz-Josef Selig