Skip to product information
1 of 2

Britten & Facchinetti: Laura Plays Laura

Britten & Facchinetti: Laura Plays Laura

Regular price $18.99 USD
Regular price $18.99 USD Sale price $18.99 USD
Sale Currently Out Of Stock
Shipping calculated at checkout.

This release offers a vivid picture of the diverse and varied spirits that characterized the twentieth century, as told in music. A milestone of twentieth century guitar literature, Nocturnal after John Dowland op. 70 (1963) by Benjamin Britten, joins hands here with two pieces, Fantasia per Laura (2010) and Suite per chitarra (2016), by Giancarlo Facchinetti (1936-2017), a composer from Brescia who ‘with his biographical and artistic story, sums up the fragmented and contradictory course of twentieth century music’.

Alongside the mainland represented by the works of Britten and Facchinetti, the former unanimously historicized and the latter undoubtedly on the way to being so, five well-known songs belonging to the tradition of pop music have been inserted, like a small and intricate archipelago. Seemingly isolated, far removed from the seriousness of the classical context just described, yet dense with their own poetic originality, thanks in part to the inventiveness of the musicians who have succeeded so well in making guitar arrangements of them, the songs surface like water lilies among the leaden atmospheres elicited by Britten and Facchinetti, like an invitation to free our mind and soul from the meditative introversion characterizing the Nocturnal, as well as the Fantasia and Suite. The pieces in our program alternate as if wishing to lead the listener through the meanderings of an emotional journey that culminates in the concluding Nocturnal.

View full details

Product Description:

  • Release Date: October 07, 2022

  • UPC: 8011570372383

  • Catalog Number: STR37238

  • Label: Stradivarius

  • Number of Discs: 1

  • Composer: Benjamin Britten, Giancarlo Facchinetti, Jerome Kern, Joseph Kosma, Les Reed, Barry Mason, David Raksin, Ariel Ramirez

  • Performer: Laura Mondiello