Skip to product information
1 of 2

Brahms: Als ob mich Engel riefen - Choral Music

Brahms: Als ob mich Engel riefen - Choral Music

Regular price $22.99 USD
Regular price $22.99 USD Sale price $22.99 USD
Sale Currently Out Of Stock
Shipping calculated at checkout.
The genre accompanied him for almost his entire creative period: the 23-year-old Johannes Brahms wrote the Sacred Choral Song op. 30 in 1856, the Five Songs for mixed chorus a cappella are his late legacy in the field of secular choral song, written between 1886 and 1888. In between are the Three Songs, written at a time when Brahms was also very practically occupied with choral singing as a choral conductor, then the Seven Songs for four- to eight-part choir and finally his large-scale Motte op. 74, No. 1 Warum ist das Licht gegeben from 1877 and its sister work O Heiland, reiß die Himmel auf op. 74 No. 2. In the course of more than 30 years, the composer shows a fascinating development, which - of course always in the most demanding facture - leads from romantic opulence of the six- to eight-part movement to rather reduced austerity. Chorwerk Ruhr traces this development with fascinating intensity.
View full details

Product Description:

  • Release Date: December 01, 2023

  • UPC: 4039956923084

  • Catalog Number: COV92308

  • Label: Coviello

  • Number of Discs: 1

  • Period: ["COMPACT DISC"]

  • Composer: Johannes Brahms

  • Performer: Chorwerk Ruhr, Florian Helgath, Peter Kofler