Skip to product information
1 of 1

Beethoven: The Mahler Re-Orchestrations

Beethoven: The Mahler Re-Orchestrations

Regular price $29.99 USD
Regular price $29.99 USD Sale price $29.99 USD
Sale Currently Out Of Stock
Shipping calculated at checkout.
Whenever Gustav Mahler spoke of Beethoven, he did so with an air of reverence: "Among poets and composers of more recent times we can, perhaps, name but three: Shakespeare, Beethoven, and Wagner." And yet, Mahler the conductor considered Beethoven's scores primarily a challenge; material that needed adapting and adopting to the orchestras and concert halls of his time. Richard Wagner had already prepared Beethoven's scores and written about it in great detail. The balance of sound of the classical orchestra was off, and a return to previous states was out of the question, given the increased size of the concert halls. People knew of their existence, but it was not until 1927 that Erwin Stein, the composer, pianist, and music journalist active in Schoenberg's circles, was able to report that all of Mahler's conductor's scores, replete with his "Retuschen" (retouchings), had in fact survived.
View full details

Product Description:

  • Release Date: June 21, 2024

  • UPC: 845221054841

  • Catalog Number: C5484

  • Label: Capriccio

  • Number of Discs: 3

  • Composer: Ludwig Van Beethoven

  • Performer: Deutsche Staatsphilharmonie Rheinland-Pfalz, Margarita Vilsone, Evelyne Krahe, Michael Muller-Kaszte