Skip to product information
1 of 1

Beethoven: Mass in C Major / Jansons Blu-ray

Beethoven: Mass in C Major / Jansons Blu-ray

Regular price $38.99 USD
Regular price $38.99 USD Sale price $38.99 USD
Sale Currently Out Of Stock
Shipping calculated at checkout.
This Blu-ray Disc is only playable on Blu-ray Disc players and not compatible with standard DVD players.

Also available on standard DVD

Celebrating his 75th birthday with a programme of Stravinsky, Hummel and Beethoven, “everything about Mariss Jansons exudes joy and sovereignty,” wrote Süddeutsche Zeitung. This thrilling, varied concert was recorded in January 2018, with Jansons and the Bavarian Radio Symphony Orchestra demonstrating the close relationship which has developed between them over the past 18 years. This recording also features a stellar quartet of soloists partnering with one of this fine orchestra, playing under the conductor who, even at 75, continues to inspire them to great artistic heights. Born in 1943 in the Latvian capital of Riga, Mariss Jansons grew up in the Soviet Union as the son of conductor Arvid Jansons, studying violin, viola and piano and completing his musical education in conducting with high honours at the Leningrad Conservatory. Further studies followed with Hans Swarovsky in Vienna and Herbert von Karajan in Salzburg. In 1971 he won the conducting competition sponsored by the Karajan Foundation in Berlin. His work was also significantly influenced by the legendary Russian conductor Yevgeny Mravinsky, who engaged Mariss Jansons as his assistant at the Leningrad Philharmonic in 1972. Over the succeeding years Mariss Jansons remained loyal to this orchestra, today renamed the St. Petersburg Philharmonic, as a regular conductor until 1999, conducting the orchestra during that period on tours throughout the world. Since 2003 Jansons has been Chief Conductor of the Bavarian Radio Symphony Orchestra and Chorus.



Beethoven insisted that the keynotes of his Mass were cheerfulness and gentleness, and these qualities are evident in a tenderly shaped Sanctus and Benedictus.

– Gramophone
View full details

Product Description:

  • Release Date: October 12, 2018

  • UPC: 4260415080424

  • Catalog Number: BVE08042

  • Label: Belvedere Edition

  • Number of Discs: 1

  • Composer: Igor Stravinsky, Johann Nepomuk Hummel, Ludwig van Beethoven

  • Conductor: Mariss Jansons

  • Orchestra/Ensemble: Bavarian Radio Choir, Bavarian Radio Symphony Orchestra

  • Performer: Genia Kühmeier, Gerhild Romberger, Luca Pisaroni, Maximilian Schmitt