Skip to product information
1 of 4

V2: Beethoven & Contemporaries

V2: Beethoven & Contemporaries

Regular price $24.99 USD
Regular price $24.99 USD Sale price $24.99 USD
Sale Currently Out Of Stock
Shipping calculated at checkout.

Also available in DVD!

The award-winning Akademie für Alte Musik Berlin has become one of the world’s leading chamber orchestras on period instruments. These concerts reveal some of the foundations of Beethoven’s genius, and capture vital performances from the 2020 SWR Schwetzingen Festival, the biggest radio festival for classical music in the world. Robert Schumann pointed out similarities between Méhul’s First Symphony and Beethoven’s Fifth, and these third and fourth concerts in the cycle also include a tempest by Holzbauer that precedes Beethoven’s by half a century, plus the little-known Le portrait musical de la nature by Justin Heinrich Knecht, a work that also anticipates Beethoven’s ‘Pastoral’ Symphony. The first and second concerts are also available on Naxos.

View full details

Product Description:

  • Release Date: November 12, 2021

  • UPC: 730099013666

  • Catalog Number: NBD0136V

  • Label: Naxos

  • Number of Discs: 1

  • Composer: Étienne-Nicolas Méhul, Ignaz Holzbauer, Justin Heinrich Knecht, Ludwig van Beethoven, Luigi Cherubini

  • Conductor: Bernhard Forck

  • Orchestra/Ensemble: Berlin Akademie für Alte Musik

  • Performer: Akademie Fur Alte Musik Berlin, Forck