Skip to product information
1 of 2

Beauvarlet-Charpentier, Cherubini & Lefebure-Wely: Noel sous

Beauvarlet-Charpentier, Cherubini & Lefebure-Wely: Noel sous

Regular price $20.99 USD
Regular price $20.99 USD Sale price $20.99 USD
Sale Currently Out Of Stock
Shipping calculated at checkout.

French organ music under Napoleon and the Restoration is an overlooked period in musical history, inheriting the glories of classical organ and heralding the great romantic organ music. This pivotal time, teeming with great performers – most of them improvisers – counted Isaac-François Lefèbure-Wély among its masters, who presided over the prestigious Eglise Saint-Roch from 1805. In 1823 he published a collection of 34 Noëls, inspired by those of his predecessors yet deeply rooted in their time, imbued with the memory of the Incroyables and the Merveilleuses. These extremely popular works for nativity ring out in true splendour from the organ of the Chapelle Royale, shimmering with the mysteries of Christmas through Quentin Guérillot’s generous, familiar style.

View full details

Product Description:

  • Release Date: December 01, 2023

  • UPC: 3760385430065

  • Catalog Number: CVS093

  • Label: Chateau de Versailles

  • Number of Discs: 1

  • Composer: Jacques-Marie Beauvarlet-Charpentier, Luigi Cherubini, Isaac-Francois Lefebure-Wely

  • Performer: Quentin Guerillot, Maud Bessard-Morandas