Skip to product information
1 of 2

Bartok, Janacek & Stravinsky: Village Stories

Bartok, Janacek & Stravinsky: Village Stories

Regular price $23.99 USD
Regular price $23.99 USD Sale price $23.99 USD
Sale Currently Out Of Stock
Shipping calculated at checkout.
Leo� Jan�cek and the generation younger B�la Bart�k and Igor Stravinsky were major 20th-century composers markedly influenced by folk music, bringing it to bear in their own creations. Jan�cek and Bart�k also keenly devoted to folklore as theoreticians and collected folk songs around the villages. Stravinsky, for his part, was mesmerised by folk rituals. A case in point is Les noces, which in four choreographed scenes depicts Russian wedding customs. Following significant revisions of the instrumentation, the fourth, definitive, version of the piece received it's world premiere in 1923 in Paris, as performed by Sergei Diaghilev's Ballets Russes, to Bronislava Nijinska's choreography. Jan�cek conceived his Nursery Rhymes at the age of 71, shortly after completing the opera The Makropulous Case. He too made changes to the instrumentation before arriving at a satisfactory form. The second version of the set bears witness to Jan�cek's being enthralled by Stravinsky's music. The Three Village Scenes for female voices and chamber orchestra feature arrangements of folk tunes Bart�k collected in the Zvolen district in today�s Slovakia. The set is evidently influenced by Stravinsky's style as well. The three challenging works have been undertaken by Luk� Vasilek conducting the outstanding Prague Philharmonic Choir, which on numerous occasions have displayed it's exceptional qualities and a great sense for performing music inspired by folk art. The album links up to the highly acclaimed recording of Bohuslav Martinu's cantatas (Gramophone Editor's Choice, nomination for the BBC Music Magazine Award). The rediscovered magic of folk songs and traditional rituals in the music of three 20th-century masters.
View full details

Product Description:

  • Release Date: November 24, 2023

  • UPC: 099925433321

  • Catalog Number: SU4333-2

  • Label: Supraphon

  • Number of Discs: 1

  • Period: ["COMPACT DISC"]

  • Composer: Bela Bartok, Leos Janacek, Igor Stravinsky

  • Performer: Katerina Knezikova, Jana Hrochova, Boris Stepanov, Jiri Bruckler, Lukas Hynek-Kramer, Kiril Gerstein