Skip to product information
1 of 2

Baiba Skride Plays Benjamin Britten

Baiba Skride Plays Benjamin Britten

Regular price $20.99 USD
Regular price $20.99 USD Sale price $20.99 USD
Sale Currently Out Of Stock
Shipping calculated at checkout.

The story of the discovery and resurrection of Britten's Double Concerto for Violin and Viola is one of those rare moments of musicological spice that can capture the interest of even the more casual music lover. Unlike it, the Violin Concerto Op. 15 found itself thrust onto the world stage of music right away, its genesis having been rather straightforward – if hardly smooth.

Winner of the first prize of the Queen Elisabeth Competition (2001) Baiba Skride displays a natural approach to music-making that has endeared her to many of today’s most prestigious conductors and orchestras worldwide. She performs the Double Concerto with violist Ivan Vukcevic, who has appeared in some of the most important venues and festivals in Europe. They are accompanied by the ORF Vienna Radio Symphony Orchestra conducted by Marin Alsop, whose performances won her many Gramophone Awards.

View full details

Product Description:

  • Release Date: February 16, 2024

  • UPC: 4011790220024

  • Catalog Number: ORF-C220021

  • Label: ORFEO

  • Number of Discs: 1

  • Period: 20th Century

  • Composer: Benjamin Britten

  • Conductor: Marin Alsop

  • Orchestra/Ensemble: ORF Vienna Radio Symphony Orchestra

  • Performer: Baiba Skride, Ivan Vuckevic