Skip to product information
1 of 1



Regular price $20.99 USD
Regular price $20.99 USD Sale price $20.99 USD
Sale Currently Out Of Stock
Shipping calculated at checkout.
Johann Sebastian Bach never hesitated to adapt, rework and truly metamorphose his own music with remarkable aplomb. There is no shortage of examples. It is this model of transcription that the D!ssonanti ensemble has sought to follow in the programme on this disc. With the notable exception of the Ciaccona BWV 1004, originally written for solo violin - and already the subject of countless transcriptions throughout the ages - they have for the most part drawn on the keyboard repertoire, and in particular the great organ, an instrument that is both fascinating and sometimes a little intimidating. The Passacaglia and Thema Fugatum BWV 582, almost always written for four voices, is the culmination of this repertoire. Each of the members of the ensemble, in the course of a busy life spent in contact with Bach's music played on period instruments and with a concern for authenticity in the most prestigious ensembles (Les Arts Florissants, Pygmalion, Freiburger Barockorchester, Amsterdam Baroque Orchestra, Concerto Copenhagen...), have acquired sufficient proximity to his musical language to respect, if not the letter, at least the spirit. "Our hope is to use these adaptations to show Bach in a light that is both new and familiar. A protean Bach that we've had a lot of fun imagining - and the treasure chest we've opened is not about to close again...".
View full details

Product Description:

  • Release Date: June 14, 2024

  • UPC: 3701174600245

  • Catalog Number: INC006

  • Label: Incises Records

  • Number of Discs: 1

  • Composer: Johann Sebastian Bach

  • Performer: D!Ssonanti