Skip to product information
1 of 1

Artwork and Sales Files Spohr: Symphonies Nos. 2 & 9 "The Seasons

Artwork and Sales Files Spohr: Symphonies Nos. 2 & 9 "The Seasons

Regular price $19.99 USD
Regular price $19.99 USD Sale price $19.99 USD
Sale Currently Out Of Stock
Shipping calculated at checkout.

Composed in London, Spohr's Second Symphony was received with real enthusiasm at its premiere, the audience responding to the work's tasteful Haydn-esque flourishes, wide emotional palette and delightful writing for wind instruments. Written in 1850, a year after the re-imposition of authoritarian rule in Germany, Symphony No. 9 "The Seasons" is no mere programmatic work but a symbolic journey from the winter darkness of political oppression through the "Garden of Eden" imagery of Spring and the vibrant colors of Summer, ending with Autumn whose positive finale is a celebration of the composer's belief in the political rebirth of Germany.

View full details

Product Description:

  • Release Date: August 12, 2016

  • UPC: 747313554027

  • Catalog Number: 8555540

  • Label: Naxos

  • Number of Discs: 1

  • Composer: Louis Spohr

  • Conductor: Alfred Walter

  • Orchestra/Ensemble: Slovak State Philharmonic Orchestra

  • Performer: Walter