Skip to product information
1 of 1

Anshel Brusilow Conducts The Chamber Symphony Of Philadelphi Chamber Symphony Of Philadelphia

Anshel Brusilow Conducts The Chamber Symphony Of Philadelphi Chamber Symphony Of Philadelphia

Regular price $47.98 USD
Regular price $47.98 USD Sale price $47.98 USD
Sale Currently Out Of Stock
Shipping calculated at checkout.

The Chamber Symphony of Philadelphia was founded in 1965 by Anshel Brusilow, then concertmaster of the Philadelphia Orchestra. Brusilow, who studied conducting and played under Pierre Monteux, George Szell and Eugene Ormandy, auditioned more than 1,000 musicians for the 36 full-time positions and conducted the ensemble from 1966 until 1968, when it was disbanded for want of adequate philanthropic support in the city for a second orchestra. But over the course of two-and-a-half 34-week seasons it had already performed more than 200 concerts and made six albums for RCA Victor.

Sony Classical is now issuing all these LP recordings by the Chamber Symphony of Philadelphia on CD for the first time. The original LP releases were praised by High Fidelity, which called the Chamber Symphony of Philadelphia “an orchestra of rare quality”. Reviewing its début release, Brahms’s D major Serenade, the US classical music magazine opined: “Brusilow could hardly have chosen a better work to show off the capabilities of his new orchestra – every first-chair woodwind and brass player has his chance to shine (and each does shine, brilliantly).” The Brahms was followed by a series of choice couplings: Tchaikovsky’s “Mozartiana” Suite with Arensky’s Variations on a Theme by Tchaikovsky (“Brusilow is thoroughly at home in this literature, and his players respond beautifully to his direction” – High Fidelity); symphonies by Haydn and Cherubini; a French programme of Ravel, Ibert and Françaix (“Perhaps a reflection of the Monteux influence … this record … carries true stylistic conviction in matters of phrasing, texture, and timbre” – High Fidelity); and Richard Strauss’s Le Bourgeois gentilhomme as well as Hugo Wolf’s Italian Serenade.

The orchestra also premièred and recorded a new sacred choral work by Richard Yardumian, the Philadelphia-based composer championed by Eugene Ormandy. Come, Creator Spirit for mezzo-soprano, chorus (or congregation) and orchestra was the first mass setting by an established American composer in the English vernacular following the Vatican Council’s 1963 decision. The work was lauded for its integrity, spiritual fervor, and power to communicate the essence of devotion in all its nuances from praise to supplication.

View full details

Product Description:

  • Release Date: November 10, 2023

  • UPC: 196587920722

  • Catalog Number: 19658792072

  • Label: Sony Music Entertainment

  • Number of Discs: 6

  • Composer: Anton Arensky, Johannes Brahms, Luigi Cherubini, Jean Francaix, Joseph Haydn, Jacques Ibert, Maurice

  • Conductor: Anshel Brusilow

  • Orchestra/Ensemble: Chamber Symphony of Philadelphia