Skip to product information
1 of 3

Alma - Meine Seele - Complete Songs Of Alma Mahler

Alma - Meine Seele - Complete Songs Of Alma Mahler

Regular price $20.99 USD
Regular price $20.99 USD Sale price $20.99 USD
Sale Currently Out Of Stock
Shipping calculated at checkout.

Mostly written in her youth, Alma Mahler’s Lieder are rarely performed, yet each one is a musical gem that forms an important part of the Romantic song repertoire. This album is the first recording that includes all 17 of her songs. Like her personality, Alma’s songs are mysterious, complex and profound and take the listener on a kaleidoscopic voyage where different layers in text and music can simultaneously express blistering religious sentiments, overwhelming eroticism and profound tenderness. With a rich and velvety sound Elise Caluwaerts reveals the full depths of this music: refined details are portrayed with appealing intimacy, exuberant, roller coaster-like chromatic lines are savoured, and text is interpreted with mouth-watering expertise. She is joined on this symbiotic journey by star pianist Marianna Shirinyan who performs on a Steinway from 1899 that exactly mirrors the colourful and warm piano sound that Alma had in mind when composing these beautiful songs.

View full details

Product Description:

  • Release Date: May 12, 2023

  • UPC: 5400439007963

  • Catalog Number: FUG796

  • Label: Fuga Libera

  • Number of Discs: 1

  • Period: 20th Century

  • Composer: Alma Mahler

  • Performer: Elise Caluwaerts,Marianna Shirinyan