Skip to product information
1 of 2

A Celebration of Paul Reade / Philippa Davies; English CO

A Celebration of Paul Reade / Philippa Davies; English CO

Regular price $19.99 USD
Regular price $19.99 USD Sale price $19.99 USD
Sale Currently Out Of Stock
Shipping calculated at checkout.

2023 marks 25 years since the death of British composer Paul Reade. He is remembered for his delightful Victorian Kitchen Garden music (Ivor Novello Award) and television themes such as Antiques Road-show. However, he also wrote a huge range of equally wonderful but less well-known pieces, full of melodic invention, wit and fabulous energy. They are previously unpublished and unrecorded works that deserve to be heard.

These are premiere recordings (except for the Chants du Roussillon) and show Paul’s music at its best: tender, poignant, humorous and uplifting, full of wonderful melodic and dramatic invention. Philippa Davies has been hailed as a ‘first-rate virtuoso’, with ’winning charm’, ’exceptional eloquence’ and an ‘almost electrical response to technique’. Since her celebrated performance of Mozart’s Concerto in D major at the BBC Proms in 1988, she has gained an international reputation as one of the finest flautists currently performing.

View full details

Product Description:

  • Release Date: August 18, 2023

  • UPC: 635212075821

  • Catalog Number: SIGCD758

  • Label: Signum Classics

  • Number of Discs: 1

  • Period: 20th Century

  • Composer: Paul Reade

  • Conductor: Robin O'Neill

  • Orchestra/Ensemble: London Winds, English Chamber Orchestra

  • Performer: Philippa Davies, Pumeza Matshikiza, Laurence Perkins, Helen Tunstall