Skip to product information
1 of 2

7 Gates / Günter Kühlwein & Friends

7 Gates / Günter Kühlwein & Friends

Regular price $18.99 USD
Regular price $18.99 USD Sale price $18.99 USD
Sale Currently Out Of Stock
Shipping calculated at checkout.

The history of the Hammond organ B3, the most famous of inventions by the American Laurens Hammond, is characterized by a steady up and down. Especially during the fusion boom of the 1970s, many expected the near demise of the unwieldy instrument that was patented in 1934. Gunter Kuhlwein, however, never believed in the fall of the electro-mechanical monster and has been working on the continued existence of “the Beast” (Jimmy Smith). Ever since he moved from the Hessian Viernheim to Switzerland, he has been teaching at the Swiss Jazz School and the Hochschule der Kunste Bern. When he was planning this recording, Kuhlwein chose partners whose merits and preferences he knew from countless earlier projects and performances. Opener and title track of this album is Seven Gates, like all other tracks an original composition by Kuhlwein. The result is a groovy, emotionally charged with Francis Coletta on guitar and David Elias on drums.

View full details
  • Release Specifications

    • Number of Discs: 1
    • Release Date:
    • Label: TCB (The Montreux Jazz Label)
    • UPC/Barcode:
    • Item Number: